Cinnamon Rolls

NikonD3100_132

Cinnamon rolls are one of my favorite breakfast treats. I think I have found one single GF cinnamon roll in all of my gluten-free days (5 years and counting!). Soooo I decided to give making my own a try over the holidays! I forgot you have to use live yeast and let the dough rise, so this ended up being a more time consuming breakfast than I had planned. Once I realized how long the dough needed to rise and how many times (twice), I decided to make it the night before and let it do its thing until morning. Thankfully the Garrett’s sun porch was the perfect temperature to leave the dough out there overnight!

Rolling the dough was a little tricky. It was SUPER sticky and I had to use a lot of flour to be able to roll it out. I thought that was going to be the hardest part, but I was wrong. I sprinkled the dough with the fillings only to realize I had no idea how I was going to tightly roll this into a log. The dough was warm and soft and still very sticky. I dusted my hands with flour and rolled to the best of my ability. My log turned out a little lumpy but overall not too shabby. Whatever the rolls were lacking in shape, they made up for in taste!

NikonD3100_122

Ingredients

For the Dough

  • 1/4 cup warm water
  • 1 package active dry yeast
  • 1 3/4 cups whole milk, room temperature
  • 2 large eggs, well beaten at room temperature
  • 1 stick unsalted butter, melted
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 5 cups gluten-free flour (I used Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Baking Flour)

For the Filling

  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 3 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 cup chopped nuts (I used walnuts)
  • 6 Tbsp unsalted butter, room temperature

For the Icing

  • 4 oz or 1/2 package cream cheese (I like the 1/3 less fat), room temperature
  • 1/2 stick unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 2 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • pinch of salt

Instructions

  1. Fill a small bowl with 1/4 cup warm water then sprinkle in the yeast and add a small pinch of sugar. Stir until water and yeast are well combined. Set the mixture aside for 5 minutes or until the yeast starts to slightly bubble and become foamy. Note: I learned the date of the yeast package doesn’t really matter as long as it still activates when you use it. I used yeast with a 2014 date and it worked perfectly!
  2. In a large mixing bowl, combine the milk, eggs, melted butter, sugar and salt. Mix well. Stir in the yeast mixture and begin slowly adding the flour. Mix until well combined. Remember, the dough will be pretty soft and sticky. But, if it’s too loose to even get out of the bowl, add a little more flour and mix well. Once the dough is firm enough, cover with plastic wrap then place it in a warm spot to rise for about 1 hour or overnight like I did. Note: If you are going to leave it overnight, make sure you put it in a large enough bowl lightly covered so it has room to rise.
  3. Now, the dough should have nearly doubled in size. Dust your work space (I usually use a baking mat) with plenty of gluten-free flour. Place dough ball on floured surface and sprinkle with additional gluten-free flour so your rolling pin doesn’t stick. Roll dough out to somewhere near an 18″ by 18″ square.
  4. In another bowl, stir together the brown sugar, regular sugar, nuts and cinnamon until well combined.
  5. Spread the soft butter evenly across the dough then cover with the sugar/nut mixture. Tightly roll the dough up and cut it evenly into 12 slices. I dusted my knife with flour between cuts to keep it from sticking and deforming the rolls (even more than they already were ha).
  6. Grease a 9″ x 13″ baking dish and places the rolls in evenly. Cover with plastic wrap then place in a warm spot to rise for another hour or so. They should noticeably rise during this time.
  7. In preparation for baking, preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  8. Once the rolls have risen again, bake in preheated over for 25-30 minutes, or until lightly browned. While the rolls are in the oven you can make the icing.
  9. In a medium mixing bowl, mix together cream cheese, butter, powdered sugar, vanilla and salt. Beat on low/medium speed until icing is creamy.
  10. Once the rolls are browned to perfection remove from the oven and transfer pan to a cooling rack. Once they have cooled slightly, frost and serve warm!

Bon appétit!

Leave a Reply

