Pumpkin Zucchini Muffins

I’m back! I apologize for the lack of posts the last 2 weeks! Between a crazy few weeks at work and getting prepared for Thanksgiving (which was a blast btw) my blog was sadly the first thing to fall by the wayside. I plan to make a much bigger effort this month to keep up with a better posting schedule. I still have a few fall recipes (that I don’t think you are going to want to miss) I’m going to squeeze in before I switch to Christmas mode.

Speaking of Christmas, wow I can’t believe how fast November has gone. Most of you may already know, but I love Christmas. Like really love. It’s my favorite holiday, other than my Birthday of course. I am really looking forward to sharing my top gift picks, favorite Christmas cookie recipes, and fun holiday craft projects!

muffins6

This recipe is for healthy pumpkin zucchini muffins with dark chocolate chips! I love making muffins in the beginning on the week so we can have an easy grab and go breakfast ready for the early mornings. These tasty (and semi guilt free) little muffins go great with a hot cup of joe. The chocolate chips are optional, but highly recommended. I want to try this recipe with dried coconut flakes and walnuts next time! MMMM.

muffins7

Ingredients
  • 1 1/2 cups gluten-free all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice
  • cinnamon to taste
  • 3/4 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1 cup shredded zucchini, dried with paper towel
  • 1/3 cup raw honey
  • 1 tablespoon coconut oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup almond milk (I used unsweetened vanilla)
  • 1/2 cup  dark chocolate chips (I like the Ghirardelli ones)
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Side note, after burning one of my pies for Thanksgiving we discovered our oven runs 50 degrees too hot! If you are wondering if you have the same problem (pretty common with a gas stove), you can buy an oven thermometer to compare what you have set your (preheated) oven to and what the temp is at inside.
  2. In a small mixing bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, salt, and pie spice.
  3. In a separate large mixing bowl combine pumpkin, zucchini, honey, oil, egg, and vanilla until mixture is smooth and creamy. Whisk in almond milk. Slowly add dry ingredients until well mixed. Fold in chocolate chips or other nuts of your choosing.
  4. Grease a (12) muffin tin and evenly distribute batter. Sprinkle top of muffins with ground cinnamon (optional).
  5. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until muffins have started to lightly brown and your toothpick comes out clean! Transfer pan to a cooling rack and remove muffins to cool.

Bon appétit!

 

One thought on “Pumpkin Zucchini Muffins

Leave a Reply

