Happy Halloween!

halloween (3)

Happy Halloween from the Wodicka kidlets circa 1993! While I might not end up looking as good as I did in that zebra costume, John and I are still planning on dressing up tonight! He just got all of his Amazon packages containing his costume pieces delivered last night! He was cutting it close, I know. Thank goodness for Amazon Prime! Fingers and toes crossed the rain lets up by this evening. I don’t want to be a soggy (and cold) cupcake!

NikonD3100_062 (2)

In light of the holiday today, I have delicious and simple Halloween recipe for you to try! I made these dipped rice krispie treats for a Halloween party at work yesterday. Not only did they taste great, but they also were adorable and easy to hand out! I would call it a success across the board!

NikonD3100_006 (2)

NikonD3100_046 (2)

NikonD3100_050 (2)

NikonD3100_054 (2)

Ingredients

What you will need for the rice krispie treat:

  • one bag of marshmallows ( I used a 16 oz bag of full size ones)
  • 3 TBSP unsalted butter
  • 6 cups rice cereal (I used gluten-free rice krispies)
  • one 12 oz bag of Ghirardelli dark chocolate melting wafers (my personal favorite)
  • assorted sprinkles

For the wrapping:

  • 30 lollipop sticks
  • 30 clear treat bags (I like the Wilton ones)
  • one spool of jute twine

Instructions

  1. You can do this step in the microwave or on the stovetop. I prefer the stovetop, even if it does take a tad longer. Melt butter and add in the entire bag of marshmallows. Continue stirring until marshmallows are completely softened. Remove from heat.
  2. Measure out 6 cups of rice cereal and slowly add it into the melted marshmallow and butter mixture. I recommend using a spatula to gently fold in the cereal to avoid crushing it.
  3. Grease a 9×13 cake pan. Add prepared mixture to the pan and lightly smooth it out to the edges. Let cool and set for 1-2 hours.
  4. Once the treats have set cut them into 30 little rectangles. While holding the treats firmly (but not to too hard otherwise they will end up deformed) push the lollipop stick into the top of the rectangle. Place into pan and set aside.
  5. To prepare for dipping, fill a large bowl with rice so you have something to stand your lolli sticks up in to dry.
  6. Melt chocolate in a microwave safe dish on power level 5 for 30 second increments, stirring in between, until melted. Now you dip each treat into the chocolate, tapping on the edge to remove excess chocolate. That sounds wrong, I know, but too much chocolate will makes your treats heavy and they wont want to dry standing up! Dust each one with sprinkles and stand up in the bowl of rice to dry. I could only fit about 6 in my bowl at a time so I waited a few minutes between batches.
  7. Once they are dry place each one into the clear bags, rice krispie treat down, and tie with jute.

Bon appétit!

Leave a Reply

