DIY pom-pom table runner

NikonD3100_003

This weekend was one of the first free weekends I’ve had at home in a long time! While John was busy planning for his day long symposium on Saturday, I was excitedly planning my lengthy Joann’s shopping list. Although I got supplies for a few different projects, the table runner was the first one I wanted to tackle!

I had a hard time deciding between using a patterned fabric or going with a burlap (I am SO indecisive). When I got to the store and laid eyes on the gold foil polka dot burlap my decision was an easy one. It doesn’t get much better than that beautiful, beautiful combination. I also decided last minute that (thanks to some advice from my very crafty mother) I wanted to back my runner. Burlap can be somewhat sheer so adding backing to it made the runner feel more substantial. I initially planned on making a “no sew” runner, but I did end up doing a quick hand stitch around the hem for added support.

Originally, I thought this project would take a max of 2-3 hours. After the first 3 hours passed I realized my estimate was very wrong! It ended up taking 6 hours from start to finish, not including clean up time. I may be biased, but I think time well spent considering I am quite pleased with the finished product!

What you will need:

burlap (or other fabric of your choosing)
fusible interfacing (I used Pellon)
fusible webbing (I used extra strength)
scissors
measuring tape
seam ripper (or other pointed tool)
cotton towel
iron
ironing board

First things first, you’ll want to determine how much fabric you are going to need. The size of the runner is totally up to you. I made my runner for a small(ish) entryway table. I wanted my runner to cover the entire width of the table with a generous overhang. To determine the length, measure the length of your table. Then add 18 inches. This allows for 8 each inches of overhang on each side, plus a one inch seam allowance for both sides.

Now you will want to cut your fabric. I learned this smart trick for making sure you are cutting your fabric in a straight line. Make a small cut to mark where to begin. Find one single thread and begin to pull. The fabric will start to bunch up but continue to tug the string, flattening the fabric with your hand if you need some extra force. Continue to pull until you have the entire string out. This will leave you with a straight line you can cut down.

NikonD3100_011

NikonD3100_010

Next, you will need to iron on your fusible interfacing. You will want to lay out the fabric first and pin on the interfacing to avoid movement when trying to adhere it. Once that is done, you can put a damp towel over the interfacing and press it onto the (pattern down) burlap.

You will then fold the fabric back one inch and iron down the hem. Don’t forget the damp towel when ironing, otherwise the metallic foil will transfer to the iron and it is a pain to clean. Once this has been done on all edges, you add the thin strip of fusible webbing inside the hem and iron together. I decided to have my ends come to a point, so after I folded the hem and went one more step and folded in the ends.

NikonD3100_025

You now have your no sew table runner! I went one step further and chose a clean white thread and hand stitched the hem of my runner. I not only liked the rustic look, but I also felt that it added a little additional reinforcement to the edges.

NikonD3100_010 (2)

For the yarn pom-poms you will need:

yarn in multiple colors
embroidery string
your finished table runner
scissors
a needle big enough to thread embroidery string through

NikonD3100_029

To begin, start with one color of yarn and wrap it around 3 fingers anywhere from 30-70 times depending on big and full you want your pom-poms to be. I made a variety of sizes. Once it is wrapped the desired amount carefully slide the yarn off your hand, making sure to keep the loop shape your fingers created. With a small piece of yarn tie a knot around the loop. After that is tied, you also attached the embroidery string around the center of your loop. This is how you attach the poms to your runner!

NikonD3100_038

Now for the fun part. You cut all of the loops and shape your pom-poms. Be careful not to cut the embroidery string in the process.

Now you are ready to attach the poms. Thread your large needle and gently feed the needle through your runner. Tie a double knot on the backside of the runner to secure poms in place, and trim any leftover string. Repeat until all pom-poms are attached. I used 13-15 poms on each side!

NikonD3100_044

NikonD3100_046

NikonD3100_040 (2)

NikonD3100_013 (2)

2 thoughts on “DIY pom-pom table runner

Leave a Reply

